What would you achieve if you gave yourself no out?

img_0614

Three weeks to my half marathon!!!
(In case you missed the news, I’m doing a half marathon in Miami soon for a charity that is close to my heart.)

THANK YOU to all of you who sponsored me – Ken and I reached our target of $10,000 for Chai Lifeline!
Along the way, friends have contacted me to  tell me how Chai Lifeline saved their lives (emotionally and spiritually), or people they were close to, while doctors were working to save the lives of their children.
We’re so inspired by their stories of love, caring, and connection that we want to surpass our goal, so this week, I’ve upgraded my Coaching for Charity offer to you – I’m now guaranteeing coaching packages to thank you for your donation. Click here for details.
That pic up there of my family – those four kids are the reason that Chai Lifeline means so much to me. Read here to find out all the ways they help.

OK. What does this have to do with the topic of my blog today?

This.

I am hating my training.
Seriously.
You know I love to move. All movement thrills me, and the more challenging, the more exciting to me.
But this.
Walking and running long distances?
Often inside on my treadmill?
Even with Meredith and Alex from Greys’ (I would NOT survive if Season 13 hadn’t come out on itunes. No lie.) to keep me company?
14km – two hours. On a treadmill (snowy and icy here in Toronto).
My sister called in the middle and I sowre and told her I wanted to shoot myself.
I never swear when I talk to my sister.

I do not talk like this.
Because I know, and I teach, that everything we do is because we want to do it.
So there is no point in complaining about it, right?

OK. So usually if I hated a form of exercise, I would just stop doing it and find another one.
I prefer classes because then all I have to do is get there and I can piggyback on the teacher’s energy.
Here – it’s all me.
I can’t even find friends to walk with me if I do go outside because it’s too cold.

The thing is. I’m doing it.
I have given myself no out.
My friends, family, clients and readers are supporting me and trusting me to do this half marathon for Chai Lifeline, and so I’m all in.

It’s really fascinating to me to watch this in myself,
because I usually give up very quickly if I don’t like something.
I know I’ll always find something else that excites me.
And I get bored very easily with ‘sameness’ (like treadmills. for two hours.)

So here’s my discovery, that I want to share with you:
Yesterday, the weather was nice enough for outside training,  and my schedule said it was a  5k walk day.
Instead, I ran it.
I shaved 1.5minutes off my time.
Without trying or aiming to.

I would never have aimed for this because I didn’t think I was capable of it.

If I had given myself an out, I would never have discovered that my body is able to run farther and faster than I thought possible.

After, I felt elated, exhilarated, proud.

Which got me to thinking about the brilliant women I work with.
Their goals are either to lose weight permanently or to build their business.
Both of these goals are self-determined, and self-measured.
They can give themselves an out any time they want to.
And they do, as do I, whenever it feels too hard.

So for this week, I want to offer you this to ponder:
Your goal. The big one.
What would you do differently this week if you had no out?

What if I promised to donate $1000,000 to your favourite charity when you reached your natural weight?
What if I were going to buy you your dream house when you land your first client?
What if your child’s college tuition would be fully funded (all expenses) if you worked out every day for a year?

Think about it.
It really changes things.
Please email me and tell me what your goal is, and what would change for you if you gave yourself no out.

And please visit my fundraising page – any donation at all will make a huge difference, and, if you want to explore this topic with me privately, get a free coaching package while you’re there!

About Forever Free with Bev Aron, Certified Weight Loss Coach

I work with emotional eaters who desperately want relief from emotional eating, but can't seem to do it on their own. They know they need to eat less and move more, but can't figure out why they aren't doing it. My specialty is showing them the why and the how. I also work with parents who are worried about their children's weight. I help those parents encourage their children to have a healthy body image and a healthy relationship with food.
This entry was posted in freedom, marathon and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.