I’m learning to love my muffin top


IMG_4202
What I love about this life I’ve chosen is that I keep learning.
I’m always observing myself and figuring out how my thoughts influence my experience.

I love this idea:
It’s not what happens that affects us,
It’s what we think about what happened that affects us. 

This week, what’s happened is muffin top.
You know that spillage of fat over your pants?
I don’t remember having it before.
Maybe I did and didn’t notice,
But I think it’s something new on my body.
Not from gaining weight,
It’s just there now.

I went clothes shopping this week
(so much fun!!!)
And I noticed myself thinking that I can’t buy anything that shows my muffin top.
As if it were a true fact.

But I really wanted this pair of pants.
I’ve been looking for them for a long time,
and there they were.
Perfect size, fabric, fun and flirty.
Except.
Muffin top.
Tried on the bigger size – no muffin top but too big everywhere.

Dilemma.

I really wanted them.
I wanted them immediately to wear on the plane the next day.

It took me a while to realize that the only thing stopping me from buying and wearing those pants was a ‘rule’ I had made up that said “muffin tops are forbidden”.
I could have mistakenly believed that I couldn’t wear these pants because they caused muffin top.
But that would not have been true.
Many people wear pants that show their muffin tops every day, right?
So the “forbidden” rule applies only to people who think that they should be forbidden.

I loved this realization because now I had a choice.

Keep the rule and ditch the pants,
Or ditch the rule and wear whatever I want.

So I did.

Bought the pants,
Got my lovely teenage daughter’s approval,
And here I am on the plane in my superbly comfy and fun pants.
Feeling quite spiffy if I say so myself.

What are you holding back from just because you think it’s forbidden?

Schedule a free laser mini session and I’ll help you see that it’s just your thinking that’s holding you back. That forbidden thing? You can allow it if you want to, and I can show you how.

About Forever Free with Bev Aron, Certified Weight Loss Coach

I work with emotional eaters who desperately want relief from emotional eating, but can't seem to do it on their own. They know they need to eat less and move more, but can't figure out why they aren't doing it. My specialty is showing them the why and the how. I also work with parents who are worried about their children's weight. I help those parents encourage their children to have a healthy body image and a healthy relationship with food.
This entry was posted in freedom. Bookmark the permalink.