Ditch the rules if you want to lose weight

Break The Rules Concept

Food rules prevent us from losing weight.
Yes, that includes all the rules we’ve read or heard that tell us what we must or mustn’t do in order to lose weight.
Especially those ones.

You have to give them up, throw them out the window, or flush them down the toilet,
If you want to be permanently and effortlessly thin.

Here’s why:
Every time you restrict yourself when it comes to food
You will (eventually) overeat.
Maybe not on the exact food you were ruling undesirable.
But you will binge.
And you will probably blame it on your own weakness or lack of discipline.

But I have such good news for you.
That binge was a direct result of your rule-following.

Research proves it time and again.
Even one ‘healthy eating guidelines diet’ turned a bunch of normal-weight men into binge/restricters.
And I’m guessing you’ve been on more than one diet, and it’s been more extreme than ‘healthy eating guidelines’.

Now I’m not talking about foods you don’t like, or foods that make you feel unwell, or foods that you are medically prescribed to avoid.
I’m talking about foods you tell yourself you mustn’t eat because they will make you gain weight.
Or foods you tell yourself you must eat because they will help you lose weight.
You may not even be aware of these rules.
You may just think it’s common sense.
Or science.

I understand.
I’ve been on the extreme of these rules.
I called it educated decision-making based on endless reading and research.
Food combining.
Gluten free.
No dairy.

Problem is, sometimes I just wanted a sandwich. On real bread.
Or a cappuccino. With real milk.

And I discovered that if I don’t have it because I have told myself some version of ‘it’s against the rules’, then without doubt, I am going to overeat later.
It may take a while.
Or it may be that night.
But it’s going to happen.

Tune into your luscious body for a moment:
How do you feel when you read “You must avoid gluten because it’s not healthy for you”
Name the emotion that comes up for you.
Maybe you feel rigid, tight, deprived, anxious, scared, sad, or annoyed?
Now how do you feel when you read “Your body is wise, and will let you know what foods are healthy for you. All you have to do is listen.”
Name that emotion.
My clients will report feeling instantly calmer and  clearer.

Why does this matter?
Emotional eaters tend to overeat when they feel rigid, tight, deprived, anxious, scared, sad, or annoyed.
So if that’s how food rules makes them feel,
then the food rules are making them fat.

The answer?
Ditch the rules.
Trust your body.
It will tell you what you should be eating, and when.
And whether gluten or dairy is healthy for you or not.

I know this can be scary, and hard.
Especially if you’ve been ignoring your body’s whispers for so long.
But you may decide it’s worth a try,
if you are finding that you aren’t losing weight permanently by trying to follow the rules.

Why not try it for one week?
You can always pick up the rulebook next week if it’s not working.

Here’s all you have to do:

  1. Wait until you’re physically hungry before you eat.
  2. Put your hand on your stomach and ask ‘what do I want to eat now?’
  3. Imagine how you’re going to feel after eating it.
  4. If that matches the feeling you’re after, go ahead and enjoy it.
  5. Pay close attention to your body’s whisper of “enough”, and stop eating.
  6. Repeat throughout the day.

Let me know how your experiment goes.
And if you want some support while you’re ditching your rules and learning to hear your body’s whispers,  email me to set up a free mini laser focused coaching session!

About Forever Free with Bev Aron, Certified Weight Loss Coach

I work with emotional eaters who desperately want relief from emotional eating, but can't seem to do it on their own. They know they need to eat less and move more, but can't figure out why they aren't doing it. My specialty is showing them the why and the how. I also work with parents who are worried about their children's weight. I help those parents encourage their children to have a healthy body image and a healthy relationship with food.
This entry was posted in freedom. Bookmark the permalink.