What can you do if you really try?

i-know-i-run-like-a-girl-try-to-keep-up.american-apparel-unisex-tank.athletic-grey.w380h440z1_largeAs you know, I believe that all our actions stem from our thoughts.
Which is why it’s so important to pay close attention to what our mind is saying.

This was demonstrated to me so clearly today.

As I told you last post, I’ve been inconsistent in my exercise lately,
And I’m a few pounds heavier.

My mind decided this meant I must do gentle exercise.
That I’m not fit enough to run, so I must power walk instead.

I like power walking a lot.
But running really makes me feel very fit and strong and powerful,
Which power walking doesn’t.

This morning, I invited my youngest daughter and son to join me on my power walk.
We had a lovely walk in the ravine, climbed some steep hills, and then turned back.

My baby loves to move fast, so about 1km from home, she said

“let’s run Mommy”.

She’s used to us running together – she moves like lightning, and I do my slow jog,
and then she patiently waits for me at the end,
coaching me on how to improve my stride.

My first response was “no Eden, I can’t run this year”

Then I heard myself,
noticed how ridiculous and untrue that felt,
and gave myself a slap on the head (gently).

I decided to be curious about what would happen if I ran.
So I did – simply inviting that curiosity resulted in me picking up my feet and running.
All the way home.

Just because I was willing to try,
I discovered that the only reason I couldn’t run this year was my mind saying so.

I’m telling you this because

It’s a beautifully simple reminder

That we shouldn’t believe everything we think.

Only those thoughts that feel good.

Like

‘I am still a runner’

just because I say so.

My fascination with how our thinking influences our behaviour has inspired me to launch a video series: The Skinny – How Thin Women Think. I’m going to interview women who have always been naturally thin about how they think about their bodies, food, eating, etc. I’m so excited about what I’m going to find out, and I’m going to share all this with you in the fall.  I would love your help choosing a logo – I’ve created a contest at 99 designs (LOVE)   – please click on this link to vote for your favourite design today – contest ends June 30!

About Forever Free with Bev Aron, Certified Weight Loss Coach

I work with emotional eaters who desperately want relief from emotional eating, but can't seem to do it on their own. They know they need to eat less and move more, but can't figure out why they aren't doing it. My specialty is showing them the why and the how. I also work with parents who are worried about their children's weight. I help those parents encourage their children to have a healthy body image and a healthy relationship with food.
This entry was posted in freedom. Bookmark the permalink.