How will I know when it’s time to quit?

Dirt Path Up a HillPerfect biking weather.
Feeing inspired to create today.

Laptop in  backpack, I set off on my first ride of this season,
Down through the ravine to my favourite coffee shop for salad and sacred writing time.

My chosen route has a huge, steep hill at the end.
I biked up that hill for the first time last summer, and I did it with great ease.
I was much fitter and a few pounds lighter than I am today.
I became nervous as I was approaching the hill,
because I was already thinking that I couldn’t do it this time.

I told myself I would try it,
That riding some of the way is better than nothing,
That I can always get off and walk if I need to.

Wow.
Even before I started up, I was already giving myself permission to quit.
Long before I started to struggle.

And I know that if my thinking goes to quitting, my actions are going to follow.*

Luckily, I’ve been reading “You Can If You Think You Can” by Norman Vincent Peale,
and had just finished a chapter titled “It’s Always Too Soon to Quit”.

About a quarter of the way up the hill, it pinged in my head.
“It’s always too soon to quit”.

And I held it in my mind all the way up.
I totally adjusted my thinking.
I reminded myself that I could downshift as much as I need to to make it up that hill.
I found another option, because suddenly, the action of quitting was no longer available to me.
I had removed it with my mind.

I made it up the hill.
Of course I did.
On the eighth gear – I had four downshift options left that I didn’t use.  No surprise.

It was hard. Much harder than last year.
My heart was pounding and I was quite breathless.
My usual habit would have been to quit long before I got this tired.

I see the enormous change that truly holding this thought
“It’s always too soon to quit”
can have on women who are trying to recover from their emotional eating.

I’m teaching two mindbodysoul cleanse classes now.
Some women think that every moment is the right time to quit.
The minute they eat one thing that isn’t on the cleanse list.
Or when they eat tons of things that aren’t on the cleanse list.
Or when they gain a pound.
I remember when I thought that way.

I’m inviting them to consider this idea:
If you really really want this
Then it’s ALWAYS too soon to quit.

Suddenly, other options become available.
Offering to bring the main course to a party  dinner so they have something to eat.
Inspiration to invent a delicious dessert with dates and nuts.
Maybe they downshift and do the cleanse a different way.

All ideas they would have missed if they had thought that ‘hard’ signalled quitting time.

Thnk about it for a moment – if it was too early to quit, what would you keep doing, and how would it feel when you got there?

*If you want to learn more about how to manage your mind to achieve your weight and fitness goals, and especially if you’re inspired to help others do the same,
I’m teaching Weight Coach Training at The Life Coach School next month.  We’ve put together an amazingly informative free Intro Class that you take online – scroll down to the middle of the page and you’ll find the registration link. And if you feel inspired, I’d love you to join me!

About Forever Free with Bev Aron, Certified Weight Loss Coach

I work with emotional eaters who desperately want relief from emotional eating, but can't seem to do it on their own. They know they need to eat less and move more, but can't figure out why they aren't doing it. My specialty is showing them the why and the how. I also work with parents who are worried about their children's weight. I help those parents encourage their children to have a healthy body image and a healthy relationship with food.
This entry was posted in freedom. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How will I know when it’s time to quit?

  1. Pingback: What can you do if you really try? | Forever Free by Beverley Aron

  2. Pingback: How can you use your creative mind to lose weight? | Forever Free by Beverley Aron

Comments are closed.