What are you pretending you don’t know?

Основные RGB

I had a mystery in my life for years.

I talked about it a lot.
Over lunches with friends,
phone conversations with my sister,
emails with my coaching forum.

I was very dramatic about the not knowing.
I would exclaim, with great emphasis
“I have absolutely NO IDEA why this is so”
And they would agree with me.
It sounded so legitimate.

We would go round and round on the mystery.
It looked as if we were addressing the problem.
We were paying so much attention to it.
Dedicating so much time to it.

I never realized, that the belief “I don’t know ..”
was blocking me from finding out.

I was never going to know as long as I told myself that I didn’t.
That’s because we always take actions to prove our beliefs.
This way we can keep telling ourselves how right we are.

As long as I believed I didn’t know the answer,
Well, I wouldn’t go looking for it.
And I didn’t.

I just kept spinning in “I Don’t Know” Land.
It was quite comforting there actually.
Very childish and victim-y.

I was just waiting there for someone else to figure it out
and tell me the answer.
And what to do about it as well.
Or maybe they’d just fix it for me while they’re here?

Guess what?
If I had just changed my belief to
“I’m going to find out why this is so”
I would have skipped some of those lunches and done some detective work.

I didn’t need to know exactly what to do or how to find out
in order to believe it.
All I needed was the belief that I will do what it takes to figure this out.

Guess what?
The answer was as simple as “1+1 does not= 2”
That’s all I needed to see.
Then the rest of the path to “I do know” became clear.
That’s all it took.

I don’t know = poison.
What are you pretending you don’t know?

Email me and I’ll help you reveal that belief for the poison it is.
It’s on me.
Because I do know.
That you do know.
That you are guided.
Just like me. Whenever I believe I am.
And you too.

About Forever Free with Bev Aron, Certified Weight Loss Coach

I work with emotional eaters who desperately want relief from emotional eating, but can't seem to do it on their own. They know they need to eat less and move more, but can't figure out why they aren't doing it. My specialty is showing them the why and the how. I also work with parents who are worried about their children's weight. I help those parents encourage their children to have a healthy body image and a healthy relationship with food.
This entry was posted in barrier, Bev Aron, story and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.