How do you become a regular exerciser?

turlte keep swimmingThis may surprise you:
It’s all in the language you use.
Your wording influences how you feel.

I spent the last two summers in Miami.
The first week, I started swimming forty laps each day while my kids were playing.
I called it my “Daily Forty”, and soon my kids were joining me
(I like to think it was because of my enthusiasm rather than the $5.00 I paid them).

I didn’t even think about my ‘daily forty’ as exercise –
my workout was my evening run on Bal Harbour boardwalk.
It was just part of our daily Miami routine,
and I swam slowly, rested after every ten laps, and never really got breathless.
Yet I quickly noticed how toned my arms and chest were becoming
which was amazing to me because it didn’t feel like hard work.

But there it was, definite results.

I also noticed that I never missed.
Even if we were out all day, I would dash down to make sure I got my ‘daily forty’ in before the pool closed.
When we came back to Toronto, I drove to friends’ pools until they froze.

And my family always accommodated my ‘daily forty’.
Only because I called it that.
It was simply a reality.

I never consciously made a commitment to swim forty laps every day.
I believe that the reason it became a regular part of my day,
with no resolutions or struggle or will power
is because of the words I used to describe it to my self and to other people.

The Daily Forty.

Kind of makes you think it’s a daily occurrence huh?
Sort of like showering.
Not something you really think about.
Just happens because you think of it as a daily occurrence
so it becomes one.

If you’re yearning to become a regular exerciser with ease and fun, join me and the unbelievable Marda Sperber for a 6 week life-changer: one hour of zumba followed  by one hour of weight loss coaching. I rarely coach in person so if you prefer live interaction, here’s your chance! Here’s all the details!

photo courtesy of Melody Campbell
About Forever Free with Bev Aron, Certified Weight Loss Coach

I work with emotional eaters who desperately want relief from emotional eating, but can't seem to do it on their own. They know they need to eat less and move more, but can't figure out why they aren't doing it. My specialty is showing them the why and the how. I also work with parents who are worried about their children's weight. I help those parents encourage their children to have a healthy body image and a healthy relationship with food.
This entry was posted in Bev Aron, coaching, exercise and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.