Are you worth the time?

I’m surrounded by beauty.
It’s a salad in the  making.
All organic produce supplied by my local farmer.

Its week 1 of  my biannual cleanse – fresh fruits and veggies all day – yum!
This means LOTS of chopping, slicing, washing, steaming, roasting, souping
(yes, us soup addicts believe making soup deserves it’s own verb!).
Takes lots of time.
And I always have exactly enough time to do what I want to do.

This is not the case for most of my clients.
Eighty percent will tell me that they don’t have enough time to prepare nutritious food for themselves, or to shop for fuel foods, or even to sit down and eat their meals.
I help them discover that they’re lying to themselves.  Every time.

How do I know this?
The women who tell me they have no time to do what they really want to do are
full-time working mothers with no help in the house,
grandmothers who have no dependents and don’t work outside the home,
or somewhere in between.
The mom believes that if she had no children to look after, she would have tons of time.
Tell that to the granny.

I fall somewhere in between – part-time business, full-time mom of four, part-time household help.
I’m always busy, I only do things I want to do, and I always have enough time to do them.
Before you install a shrine for me, let me tell you that, as I prepare my delicious salad, the monthly bills are waiting to be paid, my children’s dental appointments are overdue, and my son is wearing the same pants that he wore yesterday.
It’s not that I don’t want to do the laundry, bills or appointments. I do and I will.
It’s just that I want to make the salad more right now.
And I’m doing it without inner conflict.
I totally believe that my body deserves delicious food,
and that everything that follows will be done more easily
because my mind won’t be ‘busy’ telling me how bad I am because I grabbed cookies instead of making a salad.

When my clients explore their excuse of having no time,
We often uncover their belief that they’re not worthy.
Not worthy of taking the time to feed themselves well.
Not worthy of taking the time to care for themselves.

Although I do have many crappy beliefs I’ve conjured up over the years,
I do actually believe I’m worthy (and for this a resounding ‘thank you’ to my parents).

As a coach, I must call my clients when they tell themselves painful lies.
Because I believe that they’re worthy.
Of telling themselves the truth.
Of the time, the money, the effort to do what it takes to feel good, healthy and vibrant.

And the only way to get to that conversation
Is to drop the “I don’t have enough time” story.
Tell the truth.
It’s a cover-up.
It’s a lie.
And it doesn’t serve you.

Our thoughts create our result.
Every time we think “I don’t have enough time”
We feel overwhelmed, tired, hopeless.
From this place, we’ll be disorganized, waste time, talk to our friends about being too busy,
And end up not having enough time.

Not good for us. Not good for our family.
Abraham teaches us that the greatest gift you can give your family is your own happiness.
This week, my client discovered that “I deserve …” thoughts make her really happy:
“I deserve to eat nutritious food”
“I deserve to be well hydrated”
“ I deserve to take good care of myself”
“I deserve to spend money on myself”.

And these thoughts make her feel really happy, and they remind her to make the time.

AND, if she needs to,  she can always  tell herself that this is all for the kiddies!

Share on Facebook

About Forever Free with Bev Aron, Certified Weight Loss Coach

I work with emotional eaters who desperately want relief from emotional eating, but can't seem to do it on their own. They know they need to eat less and move more, but can't figure out why they aren't doing it. My specialty is showing them the why and the how. I also work with parents who are worried about their children's weight. I help those parents encourage their children to have a healthy body image and a healthy relationship with food.
This entry was posted in Bev Aron, coaching, exercise, freedom, Uncategorized, weight. Bookmark the permalink.