What does your destiny require of you?

My stomach has a bit of a bulge.
Sometimes it’s a bit more of a bulge
And sometimes it’s a bit less of a bulge.
And even though I’m thinner than I ever dreamed I would be
And even though I’m stronger than I ever dreamed I would be
And can do as many ab exercises as my toughest teacher
That bit of a bulge has taken up much more than a bit of my mental energy.

I checked in with my brilliant teacher, Brooke Castillo.
I was sure that it was normal to think about the bulge of my stomach (quite a bit)

“After all”, I told her “I don’t know anyone who wouldn’t make it mean something good if their stomach was flatter”

“Name five people”, she instructed.
Immediately, I listed
Nelson Mandela
Mother Teresa (if she were alive)
My 8 year old daughter
My 7 year old daughter
My 11 year old son

Oops!
Apparently I do know someone whose happiness does not depend at all on the size of their stomach.

(Effective coaching tool #1: make clients prove to themselves that they are lying to themselves.)

Then, to finish off my lie, she offered:
You forgot
Cancer patients
All babies/toddlers
Santa Claus
Buddha
Someone living in poverty with no food

(Effective coaching tool #2: encourage clients to laugh at the ridiculousness of their painful story, which they have totally made up)

OK. Now I was amused and sheepish.
I was ready to let it go.

In the coaching world,
we change our thinking to create the reality we want.
So the way to let go of this belief,
after seeing it for the lie it is,
is to replace it with a thought that feels better.

I asked her to help,
And here is her gift to me:
“My destiny requires more of me than thinking about how flat my stomach is.”

Aaaaah.
Instant palpable relief.
Inspiring, liberating, teary, joyful, hopeful relief.

I use this thought whenever I’m worrying about something that’s not worthy of my energy.
It immediately transports me to
Inspired ideas to move clients forward
The retreat I’m going to be coaching at in the fall
The workshop I want to create with my energy healer
Ideas for helping parents who’re worrying about their children’s weight.
My destiny.
Helping people find relief from their suffering.
One thought at a time.

Here are some recent examples my clients are using:
“My destiny requires more of me than thinking about how much I weigh”
“My destiny requires more of me than thinking about the size of my jeans”
“My destiny requires more of me than thinking about how many donuts I ate yesterday”
“My destiny requires more of me than thinking about whether I’m thinner than her”
“My destiny requires more of me than thinking about what they think of me”
“My destiny requires more of me than thinking about the size of my child’s stomach”

And simply
“My destiny requires more of me than this”

Like this thought?
Try it next time you are worrying about something that’s not worthy of your energy,
and let me know where it takes you.
I hope it’s a bit closer to your destiny.

Share on Facebook

About Forever Free with Bev Aron, Certified Weight Loss Coach

I work with emotional eaters who desperately want relief from emotional eating, but can't seem to do it on their own. They know they need to eat less and move more, but can't figure out why they aren't doing it. My specialty is showing them the why and the how. I also work with parents who are worried about their children's weight. I help those parents encourage their children to have a healthy body image and a healthy relationship with food.
This entry was posted in freedom. Bookmark the permalink.